Skip to content

A Teacher’s Quick Reference for Generational Learning Styles

September 7, 2012

Okay, I have to confess, I have a bit of a Pinterest addiction (as my husband says, I am a “virtual hoarder”) and I love experimenting with ways to use it as an educational resource — of course, I pay close attention to copyright licenses! Along the same lines as Pinterest in being a visualization software,  I have found a new love that feeds my visual, big picture based learning (and teaching) style, Thinglink!

Here is another interactive quick reference tool, made with Thinglink– designed for teachers, it includes the main characteristics of the Veteran/Silent, Babyboomer, Generation X, and Generation Y learners. Generational learning styles are an effective reference for ideas on introducing diversity in the classroom. However, teachers should avoid the trap of labeling and categorizing students in static cohorts. Because, though I am from Generation X, and I am a big picture visual learner, I posses many of the traits from other generations as well. In the end, we are all unique and learning styles are both fluid and reciprocal in nature. For more information, please review my earlier post on  digital natives versus digital immigrants. Enjoy!

Leave a Comment

I love feedback, what do you think?

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

MindShift

KQED Public Media for Northern CA

Technology with Intention

learning in public with technology and education

Online Learning Insights

A place for learning about online education

Margaret A. Powers

Educator - Lower School Tech Coordinator - Consultant

Dreams of Education

Redefining education one dream at a time

Katrina Falkner

Learning and Teaching within the School of Computer Science, University of Adelaide

