Skip to content

The Making of an Infographic to Promote Social Media Presence

June 18, 2012

I made this visualization with the intent of using it in my undergraduate classes. I anticipate promoting awareness and self-reflection in my students on how they use social media. In particular, I hope this Infographic cautions students that they do have a social media presence and that presence can be good or bad, depending on how they use social media.

I used several elements in my design that I believe will transmit my message visually without the image’s elements competing with each other or overwhelming the viewer. With that in mind, I worked on keeping the colors crisp, but not aesthetically jarring (Tufte, 2006). Yellow was used for the background of the word typography portrait, in hopes that people will implicitly recognize the yellow as cautionary (Eysenck & Keane, 2010). In addition, the Calibri type font works well with a computer image and is easy to read (Tufte, 2006). Symbols, such as the stop sign symbol, help relay a message of stop and think (Eysenck & Keane, 2010).

Popular social media icons facilitate people processing the information more easily, along with quickly helping in identifying the message. The personal use of my own face will aid students in connecting at a more personable, along with emotional level. In addition, numbers were used in place of words with the intention that it will attract the student’s attention when they visually process the information. Finally, if you look closely, the words that I used in my portrait are a snippet of my last couple of day’s tweets on Twitter . The idea of using my tweets was to make my point more visually real (Eysenck & Keane, 2010; Tufte, 2006).

Eysenck, M.W. & Keane, M.T. (2010) Cognitive Psychology: A Student’s Handbook (6th edition). Psychology Press.

Tufte, E. R. (2006). Beautiful evidence. Cheshire, CT: Graphics Press.

* Software used was GIMP, Microsoft Word, Jing, and Snagit

Leave a Comment

I love feedback, what do you think?

Gen Y Girl

Twentysomething. Annoyed with corporate BS. Obsessed with Gen Y. Not bratty. Just opinionated.

MindShift

KQED Public Media for Northern CA

Technology with Intention

learning in public with technology and education

Online Learning Insights

A place for learning about online education

Margaret A. Powers

Educator - Lower School Tech Coordinator - Consultant

Dreams of Education

Redefining education one dream at a time

Katrina Falkner

Learning and Teaching within the School of Computer Science, University of Adelaide

